Choose To Chance The Rapids, Dare To Dance The Tide

No matter how I feel about his policy not to sell on iTunes, and I feel fairly strongly about it, you gotta love Garth Brooks.  Or at least the 58 bagillion people at the ACM Awards this past Sunday night do.

So.  Let’s just come right out with my point…the “podcasting patent” is no more.  I’m not quite sure how to feel about it because I never really saw Personal Audio as a troll (as evidenced here and here).  Why?  Well, chiefly because the company’s owner actually patented something himself rather than buying a patent on the open market for the sole purposes of extorting payments from (alleged) infringers, or, worse, purporting to be “inventor friendly” and convincing people to “innovate” for him and then monetizing whatever crap he can manage to patent out of the process.  You know, like Intellectual Ventures does.  Further, Mr. Logan spent his own money trying to commercialize the idea, something a troll would never do because the idea isn’t to add value of any kind, it’s to add volume to their wallets.

IP Troll Tracker

Joe Mullin puts it this way:

The history of Personal Audio dates to the late 1990s, when Jim Logan created a company seeking to create a kind of proto-iPod digital music player. But his company flopped. Years later, Logan turned to lawsuits to collect money from those investments. He sued companies over both the “episodic content” patent, as well as a separate patent, which Logan and his lawyers said covered playlists, that wrung verdicts or settlements from Samsung and Apple.

I’m not inside Mr. Logan’s head, but I’m imagining that it was less “turning to lawsuits to collect money from investments” as it was “Daaaang, those dudes are doing what I tried to do, and I even paid to patented the idea, and I think I’m owed something for my trailblazing.”  I love you anyway Joe, even though I disagree with you on this.

But as I said in prior posts on this topic, the issue for me in this particular case was never “should the patent have been issued”, it was “the patent was issued and I felt he had a right to assert it”.  Plus, I don’t have any first-hand knowledge that his tactics in trying to get licenses was trollish-like.  We’d know if it was, if anyone who received such a letter would be willing to upload it to That Patent Tool.  (HUGE HINT. PLEASE TAKE IT.)

I feel a little sheepish that it was EFF that took the patent down because I like those guys.  I was a total and complete bumbling idiot fangirl when I met Julie Samuels in person that one time.  I know, she’s not there anymore but she was when I met her and went all Kristen Bell and a Sloth.  In my mind, of course.

What would have saved us all this heartache would be if the USPTO actually did a better job of vetting patent applications and quit issuing stupid ones.  But there again, I’m not even sure this one qualifies as stupid, though the cases of prior art would seem that it was, at least in part, not non-obvious.  <— Double negative, FTW.  You’re welcome, Mrs. Fritchy my Junior English teacher.

Mr. Logan, through Personal Audio, chose to chance the rapids.  He patented an idea and tried to use it in a product in the market place using his own money, and then made an effort to capitalize when technology brought forth the right tools to make it all work.

And because I am incapable of not completing my lyric reference, he didn’t sit along the shoreline and say he was satisfied, he danced the tide until the music was stopped.

I had to get it out, y’all and now feel as though my next post must have quadruple the snark to offset the maudlin tone of this one!

JustSayin_small_New

IPTT

{Oh no you didn’t picture found here.}

One thought on “Choose To Chance The Rapids, Dare To Dance The Tide

  1. Pingback: PATENT Act a ‘Reform’ for Big Corporations, Hence Does Not Address the Core Issues, Including Patent Scope and Massive Patent Aggressors | Techrights

Leave a Reply

