I’ve Been Cheating On You, Patent Troll Haters

Maybe that’s a slight over-exaggeration.  Which, what is that anyway?  One can exaggerate, so does “over” exaggerate mean you’re exaggerating your exaggeration?  See?  This is why you shouldn’t give people like me a blog.

My point is, I’ve been talking to the “other side” for a while now, sort of clandestinely behind the scenes.  Which is what clandestine means, for those of you who went to school here.  I’ve spoken to a few inventors who’ve been screaming VERY LOUDLY IN LARGE SHOUTY CAPITALS AND NOW YOU KNOW WHAT KIND OF BOOKS I READ about how patent reform will do more to hurt them than it will to tame the patent troll problem which, by the way, they claim doesn’t exist.  How’s that for fuzzy logic?

Don’t think for one minute that I’m going soft on trolls because that will never happen.  But I don’t think we can argue that the landscape hasn’t changed over the course of the last, say, three years.  And by “changed” let me just enumerate a few goings on in the patent litigation realm:

  1. The majors are getting smacked down with increasing frequency.  There are a few very well known trolls who’ve run up against some litigious resistance.  IV just lost a  big round in court.  MPHJ, despite suing the FTC (stifles laughter), has lost in NY regarding their demand letter tactics.
  2. States, even states like Kentucky (you’re welcome, Drew) are coming up with fairly decent ways to curtail the sending of demand letters.  See NY example in #1.
  3. IP Nav is trying to go legit by helping David Ditto fend off Goliath 1-800-Contacts.  One reason people try to switch sides is that they think they’ve done something wrong, and been on the wrong side and now they’ve seen the light and have switched. Other times, they just see an opportunity to make themselves look good in the press and so they take it.  I’m not sure which this is with IP Nav, but I get a feeling that Erich is tired of being the thug and wants a little love.  Either way, it was a telling move.
  4. The issue has gotten attention at the Federal level, which means that whether or not real action takes place (my opinion: it won’t come from legislation if it does) there’s much more visibility to the tactics of the bad players in the industry.  Just like roaches when you turn on the light in the summer camp cabin, patent trolls are scrambling to find a place to hide as a result of the exposure.

Back to what I’ve been doing a lot lately, which is talking to inventors. I like to think of myself as anti patent troll and I am.  I do not now and never have liked the underhanded bully tactics they use in their demand letters and I don’t like how they co-opt old, worthless patents and try to dummy up some value out of them, especially when said patents should never have been issued in the first place.

But as the abbreviated list above points out, things are changing.  So is it time to focus on other issues in the patent space?  Like accessibility to ideas if you’re an operating company and accessibility to buyers if you’re an inventor/patent holder?  Maybe, I dunno, a Match.com for IP?

As I wrote in the Backgrounder, inventors face a legitimate problem of how to get exposure to their ideas (nee’, patents) at the right levels.  They’re in a tough spot sometimes, and I see how they would turn to the nasty folks to get help.  Likewise, you could say that larger companies, operating companies, may be more than willing to license technology that they need but how do they know it’s out there?  They can commission a Prior Art search, and I know that many do because Article One Partners has a good thing going.  It’s a great start and a great market-based solution to the problem that gets us part of the way there.

What I hear when I talk to inventors is that they just want people to listen.  They want a forum for their ideas. They’re sick and tired of companies co-opting their stuff and shutting down negotiations and all but forcing them to go the litigation/PAE/troll route to get any kind of relief.  Inventors are a special breed of individual.  They live and breath this stuff and just want what’s coming to them.

BackToTheFuture

 

I am scheduling an interview with my favorite inventor (assuming he agrees, he doesn’t know yet because I haven’t asked him because I’m chicken I’ve been working a lot) and plan to address his take on the troll issue out in the light of day, instead of just whispering behind the scenes in email.  My goal here on IP Troll Tracker has always been to track the shenanigans and ballyhoo of the trolls in an effort to expose them, but as I say on the intro page at That Patent Tool, I also want to be a part of the solution.

Education about the “other side” of the troll issue, the inventors, is part of that for me.

JustSayin_small_New

IPTT

{Awesome 80’s movie image found here.}

 

One thought on “I’ve Been Cheating On You, Patent Troll Haters

  1. Quite a few companies have not negotiated in good faith with inventors who had legitimate strong patent claims so in some sense companies are getting their “just desserts” from the patent assertion entities with indiscriminate litigation. The problem is that two wrongs do not make a right.

    What I find disingenuous, however, are the extreme positions taken by many on the two sides where inventors say that provisions intended to be harsh against weak patents will hurt them. Of course, it all comes down to a matter of degree and one cannot determine this from legislation alone since it is the court’s interpretation and application of the law that determine the consequences. For their part, companies have lobbied to weaken legislation for a process that would review patents to remove weak ones and this was done in part to protect patents the companies have themselves. Hypocrisy and self-interest are bountiful.

    If abuse were punished regardless of the actor and if the lawyers were punished directly, not just their clients, the abuse would stop in a hurry. It’s not just patent litigation, but civil litigation more broadly. Patents are just the latest in a long line by some who abuse the legal system, mostly because they can without consequence.

Leave a Reply

